request.ancestors = 4442,4442,4442,4442,4442,4442,4442,4442,4442,4442,4442,4442,4442,4442,4442,4442,4442,4442,4442,4442,4425
session.lev = 5
session.chaptersite = 0
session.chapterroot = 1
session.chaptername =
session.homePageLayout = 0

B2 Awards Judging


BMA is committed to operating as open and transparent a B2 Awards judging process as possible.

To that end, we especially want all entrants to have a clear understanding of who the judges are, what criteria they will use to judge and score entries, and how Best of Division and Award of Excellence winners will be determined.


For the inaugural 2010 B2 Awards, BMA has recruited 26 judges, all very senior corporate marketers.

During their distinguished careers, most have had responsibility for all of the following:

  • Manage marketing and/or mar-com budgets
  • Make strategic marketing and tactical decisions
  • Review, approve and manage branding and/or demand-generation programs
  • Evaluate, hire and manage agencies or internal creative teams
  • Evaluate, judge, select and buy creative concepts, campaigns and services

Our 2010 judges are:

Judges will be assigned categories most relevant to their positions and career experience.

Every category will be judged by at least three judges. No judge will be asked to judge more than three categories, and no judges will be permitted to judge categories in which their firms have entries.

Judging Criteria

Section 1: Marketers

Category 1: Marketing, Brand and Communications Strategy

  • Nature of challenge
  • Learning undertaken to formulate strategy
  • Statement of strategy
  • Implementation of strategy
  • Results

Category 2: Marketing Activation

  • Objective
  • Strategy
  • Solution
  • Results

Section 2: Marketers, Agencies and Other Providers

All Categories

  • Objective
  • Strategy
  • Solution
  • Results


Taking into account the relevant judging criteria, judges will rate each entry a score on a 1-10 scale, with 1 being the lowest score possible and 10 the highest score possible.

Determination of Winners

Division Level

The B2s will have two types of division-level awards:

  • Best of Division Award (entries with at least a 9.0 score and the highest in the division)
  • Award of Excellence (entries with at least an 8.5 score)

Category Level

Judges will then award a Best of Category Award in each of the 27 categories to the division winner from each category with the highest overall score. In case of a tie, judges will vote or reach consensus on an overall winner.

Questions about the B2s can be directed to Kriston Ewoldt at 630-544-5054, ext. 111. Or e-mail

Speaker's Bureau BMA BUZZ BMA Marketing Opportunities

Here you can find a speaker, or make yourself available to speak on your areas of expertise.
Learn more >

Get the latest BMA and B-to-B related insights from the BMA Buzz, the official BMA e-newsletter or daily updates from the BMA SmartBrief.
Learn more >

BMA offers a wide variety of marketing opportunities for you to reach this very influential, highly specialized audience of B-to-B marketers.
Learn more >